Category Archives: PiercingKen Says

General Announcements and Editorial posts.

The Toy Authority Presents The Peoples Play Awards: America’s Wishlist

ttpm logo, toys tots pets and more logo

The Press Release:
Roll out the red carpet, clear off the shelves in the playroom, alert Santa, The Toy Authority, a leader in toy entertainment on TikTok, powered by TTPM, the leader in the video product reviews for toys, baby and pet gear, is launching the newest toy award program: The People’s Play Awards: America’s Wishlist.

peoples play awards, peoples play awards 2022 logo

Just in time for the 2022 Holiday Season, the People’s Play Awards will bring together top names in the toy industry – from retailers to media to analysts – to choose the finalists in over 15 categories. While the finalists are chosen by toy experts with 100+ years covering toys, the winners are chosen by the most important audience: consumers, toy fans, and influencers, giving parents and gift givers a no-fail holiday shopping list.
Continue reading The Toy Authority Presents The Peoples Play Awards: America’s Wishlist

MTV Reveals Nominations For 2022 “Video Music Awards” (VMAs)

The Press Release:
MTV today unveiled the highly-anticipated nominations for the 2022 “VMAs,” featuring artists whose cultural impact and work over the past year have transformed the music industry and created global conversations. Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar and Lil Nas X (7 each) lead this year’s nominations, closely followed by Doja Cat and Harry Styles (6 each), and Billie Eilish, Drake, Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd (5 each).

Leading the pack with 7 nods apiece, Jack Harlow and Lil Nas X both earned multiple nominations for hit collaboration “INDUSTRY BABY,” which world premiered live on the 2021 “VMAs” stage, alongside Kendrick Lamar, who is nominated for the first time since 2018. Madonna, who reigns at the most awarded artists in MTV history with 20 wins, becomes the only artist to be nominated in each of the “VMAs” five decades (1980s-2020s), as she earns her 69th nomination for “MADAME X.” This year also sees 26 first-time nominees, including Baby Keem (4), MTV PUSH artist GAYLE (2), Kacey Musgraves (2) and Måneskin (2), all receiving multiple nods, plus first nominations for Anitta, Becky G, Dove Cameron, Karol G, ITZY, JID, Muni Long, Tems, Wet Leg and more.
Continue reading MTV Reveals Nominations For 2022 “Video Music Awards” (VMAs)

NY NOW Owner Acquires Bulletin

ny now, ny now 2022, trade show logos

The Press Release:
Emerald Holding, Inc. (NYSE; EEX), the owner and organizer of NY NOW®, the wholesale market for retail where brands, buyers, and designers gather to connect and discover, today announced the acquisition of Bulletin Inc, a wholesale marketplace connecting over 3,000 independent brands with over 26,000+ retailers.

ny now, bulletin, emerald holding

All Bulletin employees will join Emerald as part of the acquisition, including co-founders Alana Branston and Ali Kriegsman. The co-founders will remain committed to and lead the future growth and success of both Bulletin and NY NOW, with Branston moving into an expanded role of Group Vice President, Gift & Home and Kriegsman moving into the role of Vice President, Strategy, Gift & Home.
Continue reading NY NOW Owner Acquires Bulletin

Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog Eating Contest Back On Surf and Stillwell Avenues

nathan's famous logo

After a couple of years of being held in different places based on the Coronavirus pandemic the time-honored Nathan’s hot dog eating contest was back on the corner of Surf and Stillwell Avenue’s in Coney Island. 2020 found the event going virtual and last year it was at the nearby baseball stadium but there is truly nothing like having this out on the street in front of the very first Nathan’s restaurant. As expected there were thousands in attendance and the heat of the day was about 85 degrees but sadly I would not be out there in the mix and instead was tuning in again from the household. Truth be told, despite my going to some concerts and conventions I’m not 100% there yet with a crowd like this one that is heaped on top of each other with barely an inch to breathe. I think the media gets placed in a special area of their own but having never looked into the whole thing I was not certain. The rallying was mostly behind the current and continued men’s champion Joey “Jaws” Chestnut but there were a few notable contenders looking to unseat him. For the women, Miki Sudo was returning and looking to claim the belt back from last year’s champion Michelle Lesco. I am happy to report that both Chestnut and Sudo won their side of the competition.

nathans famous hot dog eating contest
Continue reading Nathan’s Famous Hot Dog Eating Contest Back On Surf and Stillwell Avenues

Broadway Announces Optional Mask Policy for the Month of July

the broadway league, the broadway league logo, organization logos

The Press Release:
The Broadway League announced today that the owners and operators of all 41 Broadway theatres in New York City will adopt a “mask optional” policy for the month of July. Audience members are still encouraged to wear masks in theatres.

Charlotte St. Martin, President of The Broadway League said, “Millions of people enjoyed the unique magic of Broadway by watching the 75th Tony Award Ceremony recently. Millions more have experienced Broadway LIVE in theatres in New York City and throughout the U.S., since we reopened last fall. We’re thrilled to welcome even more of our passionate fans back to Broadway in the exciting 22-23 season that has just begun.”
Continue reading Broadway Announces Optional Mask Policy for the Month of July